Association of Hotels and Tourism (ASONAHORES) Elects New President for 2016-2018 Period

The Association of Hotels and Tourism of the Dominican Republic recently elected Mr. Joel Santos Echevarria as president of the association for the period 2016-2018.

Mr. Santos is an economist and tourism entrepreneur, and has been a member of the ASONAHORES board since 2012.

He is the current vice president of Coral Hospitality Corp, a company that specializes in hotel management, condo-hotels, and other tourism-oriented services under the Coral Brands Hotels, as well as the Xeliter and International Vacation Club brands.

ASONAHORES is the national organization that represents the country’s private tourism sector, including national and regional hotel organizations, restaurants, airports, marinas, car rental companies, health tourism, as well as many other related tourism-oriented companies.

The new ASONAHORES president has worked in the tourism sector entrepreneur for the past 19 years.

In the past, he has held various positions within the organization, including the Association treasurer.

The Coral Hospitality Corp.  manages 26 properties in the Dominican Republic and Mexico, with more than 1,100 employees.

For five years he was Vice President of Finance for the Coral Hotels and Resorts chain, founded by the Dominican BHD-Leon Bank.

Santos replaced Simon Suarez, a Board member for the past 26 years and current Vice Presidente of the Puntacana Group, which operates hotels, Punta Cana’s international airport, key real estate tourism projects, as well as other sector-related companies.

ASONAHORES’ Executive Board:

Mr. Ventura Serra, First Vice President; Rafael Blanco Tejera, Second Vice President; Maria Vasquez, Third Vice President; William Phelan, Fourth Vice President; Frank Elias Ranieri, Treasurer; Analie Prieto, Vice Treasurer; Jose Luis Cabral, Secretary, and Andres Brugal Ceara, Vice-Secretary.

Members of the Board of Directors: Mariel Lopez, Fernando Gomez, Jesus Duran, Francisco Perez -Paco-, Artur Cabre, Conrad Bergwerf, Paola Ranieri Diaz, Rafael Cabrera, Antonio Yapor, Ramon Rossello, Ernesto Veloz, Polibio Schiffino, Alejandro Cambiaso, Osvaldo Oller Bolaños, Roberto Henriquez, Jose Antonio Rodriguez, Edmundo Aja, Juan Bancalari, Jose Natalio Redondo, Marco Villanueva, Daniel Hernandez, Joan Flaquer.

Luis Emilio Rodriguez Amiama is the Chairman of the Advisory Committee, and Simon Suarez, Past President.

This post is also available in: Spanish

Share this article