Golf Channel championship lights up Playa Dorada

216_g01The VII Latin American Golf Channel Championship was successfully held from September 9-12 in the Playa Dorada Golf Course in Puerto Plata.

The course, designed by Robert Trent Jones, is situated just minutes away from Puerto Plata, the north coast’s most important tourism destination.

Thousands of golf enthusiasts throughout the world annually visit golf courses designed by this world-renowned golf-course designer.

Millions of viewers watched the competition, transmitted through the Golf Channel.

The championship focused on this beautiful golf course, on the country’s beautiful north coast.

Located approximately one hour from the north coast’s most important city, Puerto Plata, is the Playa Grande Golf Course, also designed and built by Robert Trent Jones.

The course is being rebuilt by his son, Rees Jones, who explained that he had many conversations with his father on this particular course, conversations that have now inspired him in the rebuilding face of the course.

The Playa Grande golf course has the largest number of holes facing the sea in the area.

The quality of these two golf courses has earned them international recognition. The Playa Dorada golf course is situated in the Playa Dorada tourism complex.  The Aman Hotel Group, developers of luxury hotels, is expected to build one of its prestigious hotels along the Playa Grande course.

Robert T. Jones

Robert Trent Jones (1906-2000) is regarded as the golf industry’s “Star Architect.”  He was the first golf course designer to enter the sport’s Hall of Fame in 1987.

During his lifetime he built or redesigned more than 400 courses in 35 countries and in 45 states in the U.S.

His legacy of promoting and preserving the world of golf is carried out by the “Robert Trent Jones Society.”

Golf Channel

The quality of Dominican golfers came through perfectly during the championship when Lino Guerrero, from the Dominican Republic, was named the tournament’s most outstanding athlete.

He accumulated the best gross score during the event.

In all, 45 players from Venezuela, Chile, Argentina, Uruguay, Panama, Paraguay, Costa Rica and the Dominican Republic participated in the event. The Mexican delegation won the championship title for the third year in a row.

This post is also available in: Spanish, Chinese (Traditional), French, German, Italian, Russian, Portuguese

Share this article