The Dominican Republic proudly boasts 16 Blue Flag Beaches

Sixteen beaches in the Dominican Republic are proudly showing their Blue Flag status, making it the Caribbean nation with the largest number of certified beaches.

The country’s easternmost region has the most number of Blue Flag beaches, for a total of eight.

This region is followed by five beaches in the North Coast, while Samaná – on the northeast corner – currently has three.

The Blue Flag status is given to beaches that meet international standards of quality as established by the Foundation for Environmental Education.

In 16 segments of beaches of the Dominican Republic graceful waves the “Blue Flag”, which makes us the Caribbean country with more certificates.

The East Coast is the area most Blue Flag beaches, totaling eight, followed by the North Coast, with five. Samaná, on the country’s northeast region, exhibits three.

Blue Flag is an honor given to beaches that meet international standards of quality established by the Foundation for Environmental Education.

Punta Cana Blue Flag Beaches:

  • Iberostar Bavaro “Playa Arena Gorda”
  • Bahia Principe “Playa Arena Gorda”
  • Barceló Bávaro Beach
  • Barceló Punta Cana “Playa Arena Gorda”
  • Be Live Grand Punta Cana “Playa Cabeza de Toro”
  • Natura Park “Playa Cabeza de Toro”


  • Dominicus “La Laguna” Beach
  • Dominicus Bayahibe “La Laguna” Beach

Puerto Plata

  • Iberostar Costa Dorada Beach
  • Playa Dorada Segments I
  • Playa Dorada Segments III
  • Bahia Principe “Playa Escondida”
  • Grand Marien Be Live Costa Dorada Beach


  • Bahía Príncipe Cayacoa Beach
  • Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Beach
  • Bahia Principe El Portillo Beach
  • The Dominicus beach in Bayahibe, on the country’s eastern region, was the first to receive Blue Flag in America certification back in 2003.
  • The certification is awarded to beaches that have introduced sustainable measures and environmentally-friendly policies.
  • This program is supported by the United Nations Program for the Environment and the World Tourism Organization (UNWTO).


This post is also available in: Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, Portuguese

Share this article